About Linda

I was born in northeastern Oklahoma, lived on a farm most of my young life, and now live in far north Texas, about 10 miles from Oklahoma! I married my childhood sweetheart in 1969, had a wonderful son and beautiful daughter, and now we are grandparents to 3 granddaughters and 2 grandsons. We have lived in either Oklahoma or Texas all of our lives.

Our wedding day 50 years ago and our 50th anniversary

Texas Quilt Gal is a continuation of My Sew-Called Quilts and is all about quilting, needlework, recipes, and gardening. I've been quilting since 2010 when my sweet Mom, who lived with us, passed away, and I suddenly had a lot of time on my hands. Both my grandmothers were quilters, and I wish I had been smart enough to learn from them when I was younger. My favorite quilts are traditional, scrappy, and gradation. I taught myself embroidery and crochet in my 20s and still love the hand-work, and I really enjoy cross stitch.

This is how I pictured retirement but it's a bit busier than that!

We are both retired and now spend our days taking care of our 5 acres and spoiling our dog and cats. My husband has a shop where he "makes things", and I like to quilt in my sewing room and enable my fabric addiction. My garden takes up my time during the warm weather months, and I love to bake year-round.

Some odd facts about me:
  • I've been a Christian all my life and United Methodist is my denomination.
  • I had our first child in May of our senior year of college and walked across the stage to receive a degree in mathematics two weeks later.
  • I intended to use my degree in mathematics to teach junior high math. The town where we moved after graduation had a position available, but only if I was a coach/math teacher! I got a job as a secretary instead and never renewed my teacher certification. Instead I wore many office "hats" from administrative to data input to management.
  • In 2007 I said good-bye to corporate life and started my own catering company, For Goodness Sake. I catered for a local coffee shop, my church, wedding showers and weddings, corporate clients, and individuals until 2013. It was my best job ever!
  • During our life together we have moved from Oklahoma to north Texas, back to Oklahoma, then to south Texas. Those moves were all job-related. We moved to far north Texas in October 2020, and we are 10 miles from the Red River, which divides Oklahoma and Texas. 
  • We have four rescued animals - three kitties named Katy, Jack, and Rosie, and our dog Buddy - and a stray kitty named Toby who will hopefully become part of our family. Our kids say that our animals have become our children now, and they are right!
  • I am a trained storm spotter for the National Weather Service and have a lifelong fascination and love for thunderstorms and towering supercells, so that officially makes me a weather geek.
  • I have my Conceal Carry license and own a Puma 1873-22 revolver - a cowboy gun!
  • I love all things UK. I recently did the Ancestry.com DNA test and found my ethnicity is 71% England and Wales and 29% Ireland and Scotland, so that explains that!
  • Although I will not subject you to my political opinions on my blog, I am a conservative.

1 comment :

  1. What a wonderful bio of you and yours! I am a Chopin which goes back to France and Switzerland. I am 97% European! Mother's family goes back to Germany so there is some of that but mostly Pennsylvania Dutch. We have been retired for 21 years now. We share the same beliefs! Go Trump!

    ReplyDelete

Your comments or questions are welcome here! I will reply to you by email. If you are a no-reply blogger, I will reply to you right here.